With the Selective Sync feature, you can choose the set of folders that would be synchronized to your computer. The other way to reduce amount of synced files is to use streaming mode for your Windows Desktop Application.

Important: Selective Sync can ONLY be used when the folder is FULLY downloaded to the local machine. Otherwise, it may lead to conflicted copies creation.

Note: Unchecking the folder in UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE desktop client folder selection will remove the folder from the computer. The folder will still be available in the cloud via UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE web client, but it will not be synced to the computer. In order to keep the folder on the computer locally just move it outside of the locations mapped with UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE.

UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE for Windows

To select the folders to sync, right-click UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE icon > Settings > Folder Selection > Subfolder Settings > select folders to sync:

SelectiveSync for Windows

Note: If the application was set up as a Personal device, you will only see Subfolder Settings for My UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE folder. Read the Knowledge Base article on UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE: Folder Selection (Admin Guide) for more information.

You can also look through file types and folder paths that are excluded from syncing by your Admin.
To do this, click File and Folder Exclusions in the Folder Selection tab.

Files and folders exclusions Windows

UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE for Mac

To select the folders to sync, right-click UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE icon > UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE folder > Folder Selection > Subfolder settings > select folders to sync:

SelectiveSync Mac 

You can also look through file types and folder paths that are excluded from syncing by your Admin.
To do this, click File and Folder Exclusions in the Folder Selection tab.

Files and folders exclusions MAc

Notes:

  • Selective Sync improves bandwidth efficiency as users are syncing a small subset of their content
  • Selective Sync works at the sub-folder level, allowing for granular configuration of sync preferences
  • Selective Sync can be configured differently on each computer
  • Selective Sync can be configured during installation, or post-installation via the Settings menu of the client
  • Folder owners can set the syncing preference on the folder before sharing it out with other collaborators
    coloborators
  • Folder share recipients can choose whether or not to sync the folder to their desktop devices as part of the Accept Share workflow
    SelectiveSync Share