Cross-organization sharing:

If a user shares a folder with another user in a different organization, a regular share will be established instead of sending a web link.

Regular share cannot be established if:

  1. Organizations are on different PODs (UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE servers).
    Servers can be found in UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE web:
    share.univerge.blue/us2
    share.univerge.blue/us3
  2. Sharing is not available between different platforms .

In two cases above App will suggest sharing by sending a weblink with the closest permission.

SrS Negative sharing

There are two types of external users in UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE, depending on the way they have been added for folder sharing:

 Adding users to the account via Control Panel

In order to set up a collaborative folder share, Admin needs to create a new UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE user in Control Panel. User’s own email address should be entered in the Email Address (login) field to ensure that all email-based notifications generated by UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE are delivered to the end-user. The email address may be hosted by any 3rd party company.
cpanel

Once the user is created, they will have full access to all desktop, mobile and web apps features of UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE.

 UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE users can invite external collaborators with/without administrator's approval

To allow users external sharing without admin approval:

  1. Make sure External Sharing is enabled on the Services > UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE > Policies > Sharing policy page:
    ShareSync Sharing policy page
  2. On the Services > UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE > Users page, check the Pre-approve External Collaborative Sharing box:
    ShareSync Users page

To restrict users from external sharing:

  1. Make sure External Sharing is not enabled on the Services > UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE > Policies > Sharing policy page:
    ShareSync Sharing policy page
  2. On the Services > UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE > Users page, uncheck the Pre-approve External Collaborative Sharing box:
    ShareSync Users page

If you choose to approve end-users' requests, you will do it the following way:

requests

This is how external collaborators appear in your user list in Control Panel:

userlist

Leaving Share

There are 3 ways to stop collaborating on shared file or folder:

  1. File or folder Owner selects Stop share or clicks on Cross next to collaborator's name. Appropriate events will appear in the event log on the account (unshared).
  2. Select Leave share in desktop client or web interface. This action results in an event written to UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE event log on the account (stopped collaborating on).
  3. Delete a file or folder you collaborate on from your machine. When deleting, UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE will ask you to confirm that you are leaving a share. This option silently removes a share without any entries seen in the event log on the account.

Comparing Regular users and External Collaborators

  Regular UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE user External Collaborator
occupy UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE disk space + +
can use all UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE clients (desktop and mobile) + +
can create folders + +
can upload own files + +
can be granted with the following level of permissions to folder view, modify, co-owner view, modify
can have any domain name + should have an external domain name for the company, that doesn't use UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE
can set permission-based sharing + -
can share via link + -
increase monthly charges for UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE according to the billing plan + -
increase account total disk space according to the billing plan + -
can restore password using Forgot password? on Unified Login Page + +
can restore trashed content trashed in personal folders + +
can restore trashed content trashed in shared folders + -
apply backup policies + Can synchronize only My UNIVERGE BLUE™ SHARE folder